Mount Kenya University history, fees, courses

Mount Kenya University M.KU

Mount Kenya University (M.K.U) was founded in the year 1996. It was after the precursor of Thika Institute of Technology was founded as a Computer Outreach Program. However, this was the time in Kenyan history when the development of Information Communication Technology (ICT) started gaining popularity both in rural and urban centers.

In 2000, the Institute started offering commercial college services. For instance management and computer training programs. Also, it was recognized by the  Ministry of Education Science and Technology as a full-fledged institution. Therefore, it would offer higher learning education and be given full registration of approval.

However, for the institute to be relevant to the needs of society, it initiated programs some programs. These were paramedical, Information Technology, Business, and Entrepreneurship learning in 2002.

M.K.U was the 1st private institution in Kenya to be allowed to train Pharmaceutical Technologists by the Pharmacy and Poisons Board of the Ministry of Health. This was in the year 2005.

In 2006 the Commission for Higher Education (CHE) made it valid and approved M.K.U’s request to collaborate with JKUAT to offer both Diploma and Degree programs. In addition, they continued to work closely with the Commission for Higher Education in line with the laid-out guidelines for establishing a private university. After meeting all the requirements as directed  in the guidelines of the establishment of  a private university (1989 rule), the Commission gave M.K.U a go-ahead with the authority to establish a full-fledged private university where  Thika Institute of Technology was its precursor/forerunner

A list of bachelor programs at (M.K.U)

Mount Kenya University
  • Bachelor of Commerce
  • Business and Information Technology
  • Science in Clinical Medicine and Community Health
  • Science and Information Technology
  • Economics
  • Economics and Finance
  • Economics and Statistics
  • Arts in Community Development
  • Arts in Justice and Security Studies
  • Arts in Mass Media and Communication
  • Arts in Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  • Arts in Public Administration
  • Arts in Security Studies and Criminology
  • Medicine and Surgery
  • Law
  • Pharmacy
  • Public Health
  • Science in Actuarial Science
  • Science in Nursing
  • Arts in Sociology
  • Arts in Sociology and Development
  • Arts in the Arabic Language
  • Business Information Communication and Technology
  • Business Management
  • Counseling Psychology
  • Development Studies
  • Education (Arts)
  • Education (General)
  • Education (Primary Option)
  • Education (Science)
  • Education in Early Childhood Studies
  • Education in Special Needs Education (Primary Option)
  • Education in Special Needs Education (Secondary Option)
  • Science in Animal Health and Production
  • Science in Energy and Environmental Technology
  • Science in Environmental Health
  • Science in Environmental Sciences
  • Science in Health Informatics and Information Management
  • Science in Health Records and Information Management
  • Science in Hospitality Management
  • Science in Information Science
  • Science in Laboratory Sciences
  • Science in Medical Biochemistry
  • Science in Medical Laboratory Science
  • Science in Medical Engineering
  • Science in Applied Biology
  • Science in Biotechnology
  • Science in Dental Technology
  • Science in Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Science in Petroleum Exploration and Production
  • Science in Real Estate Management
  • Science in Statistics
  • Science in Travel and Tourism Management
  • Social Work and Administration

Mount Kenya University (M.K.U) Education Course Requirements

  Mean grade C+ (Plus) in KCSE and at least C+ in every two teaching subjects, 2 principal passes in your A’Level, and one subsidiary in your relevant subjects. Again, a Diploma in Education (May be exempted in relevant units). P1 teachers require a minimum of C+ in  KCSE.

Mount Kenya University (M.K.U) Campuses in Kenya

  • Thika main campus
  • Nairobi
  • Parklands law
  • Mombasa
  • Nakuru
  • Eldoret.
  • Meru.

Read also; M.K.U structure

error: Content is protected !!