Public Universities in Kenya

The University of Nairobi (UoN)

Collage of Major public Universities in Kenya
Collage of Major public Universities in Kenya

The number of public universities in Kenya has increased from one to 34 as of 2021. These higher learning institutions offer degree, diploma, and certificate courses in diverse scholarly fields. Public Universities are distributed across Kenya in various counties. Below is a list of public universities in Kenya.

The University of Nairobi (UoN)

The University of Nairobi is the oldest and the largest University in Kenya. Its main campus is located at the heart of Nairobi along the University way. It has satellite campuses mainly within Nairobi metropolitan area.

Moi University

Moi university’s main campus is located in Eldoret town, Uasin Gichu county. The university is named after the late second president Daniel Torotich Arap Moi.

Kenyatta University (KU)

Kenyatta University has been named after the late first President Mzee Jomo Kenyatta. Its main campus is located in Nairobi along Thika Super Highway. It is popular in education courses.

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT)

JKUAT is also named after the late first president Mzee Jomo Kenyatta. Just like KU, its main campus is located off Thika Super Highway at Juja town. It is renowned for engineering courses.

The Technical University of Kenya (TUK)

Initially, the Technical University of Kenya was known as Kenya Polytechnic. However, upon being elevated to a University, it was renamed the Technical University of Kenya. It is also a city-based university. Its main campus is located along Haile Selassie Avenue, Nairobi.

Egerton University

Egerton University is a premier agricultural university in Kenya. Its main campus is located in Njoro, Nakuru county.

Maseno University

Maseno University is located in the at Maseno, Nyanza region.

The above have been the traditional Universities in Kenya. However, there are new entrants to this list. Below are some of the smaller and younger public universities.

  1. Mama Ngina University College.
  2. Karatina University.
  3. Dedan Kimathi University.
  4. Kababii University.
  5. Meru University of Science and Technology.
  6. Chuka University.
  7. Embu University.
  8. South Eastern Kenya University (SEKU).
  9. Machakos University.
  10. University of Eldoret.
  11. Multimedia University.
  12. Cooperative University.
  13. Masaai Mara University.
  14. Kirinyanga University.
  15. Masinde Murilo University.
  16. Jaramongi University.

error: Content is protected !!