What is the history of Kenyatta University?

Kenyatta university.

Kenyatta University (KU) is the alternate-largest public university in Kenya. The university has a rich history from barrack to its current status as a completely chartered university. It acquired the status of a university in 1985, being the third university after the University of Nairobi (1970) and Moi University (1984). Its main lot is located within 2 counties, that’s Nairobi and Kiambu county. Still, its main lot executive office is located in Nairobi county. However, it was named after the founding chairman of Kenya his excellency mzee Jomo Kenyatta. Since its commencement, K.U has placed itself as a world-class university through exploration and training.

Change hands from Barracks Barracks Kenyatta University.

Initially, Kenyatta University was a Templar Barracks. After Kenya got independence, Templar barracks was has handed over to the Kenyan government. It’s in 1965, the also chairman, mzee Jomo Kenyatta offered the part of the barracks to be used for literacy but no ordnance. Its new name is Kenyatta College. As a council, it primarily offered schoolteacher training (majorly S1 and S2 graduates).

Kenyatta College was also elevated to a constituent council of the University of Nairobi in 1970. It’s through the Kenyatta University Act by the National Assembly of Kenya (1985) that the council was renamed and completely chartered as Kenyatta University.

Although the University has diversified its programs, education remains a popular program for KU.

Academic development of Kenyatta University.

Upon having a charter in 1985, Kenyatta University opened its doors to offer undergraduate degree programs. It started with only three faculties, namely, the Faculty of Arts, Education, and sciences. Over time schools were adopted in place of faculties.

Today, KU has 19 schools. Namely:

  1. Agriculture and Enterprise Development
  2. Humanities and Social Sciences
  3. Business
  4. Economics
  5. Education
  6. Engineering
  7. Environmental Studies
  8. Graduate studies
  9. Medicine
  10. Pharmacy
  11. Nursing
  12. Public Health & Applied Human Science
  13. Humanities and Social Sciences
  14. School of Law
  15. Pure and Applied Sciences
  16. Visual and Performing Arts
  17. Security, Diplomacy, and Peace Studies
  18. Hospitality & Tourism Management
  19. Digital School of Virtual and Open Learning

In addition, KU has 8 campuses. Namely; Main Campus, Ruiru, Nairobi city, Kitui, Embu, Nyeri, Mombasa, Nakuru, and Parklands. Presently, Kenyatta University’s main campus in Nairobi has enrolled over 30,000 scholars in Kenya for the various degree programs. The Commission for Higher Education in Kenya has accredited Kenyatta University to offer degrees at the undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral levels in Kenya.

Facilities and investments at Kenyatta University.

Kenyatta University has different installations that support tutoring and exploration. in this regard, KU boost of a post-ultra-modern library, wisdom laboratories, sporting fields, swimming pool, spa, morgue, North Coast Beach Hotel, KU radio, KU Tv, Business and Student Service Center, amphitheater, and laboratories. In addition, KU has fiber optic internet connectivity for its scholars and staff.

Kenyatta University is friendly to people living with disabilities (PWD). Originally, its installations have either a lump or a lift making it accessible to PWD. Also, KU has a disability van to move PWD within the lot.

Former Vice Chancellors of Kenyatta University.

Below is a list of KU vice-chancellors from the current to the first.

Prof. Paul Kuria Wainaina- current

Prof. Olive Mwihaki Mugenda

Prof. Everest Standa

Prof. George Eshiwani

Prof. Githinji

Prof. Gachie.

K.U Campanile.

K.U campanile.

The history of Kenyatta University is well saved at KU Campanile. It’s an altitudinous iconic structure at the university. Besides being a University Museum, Campanile serves as a symbol of identity for KU. Adjoined to Campanile is a KU monument.


So, the university is 23 kilometers from Nairobi city. it is on the Nairobi to Thika highway, and occupies 1,100 acres of land.


P.O. BOX 43844, Nairobi 00100

Telephone: 020-810901-10, 811278/84

Email: info@ku.ac.ke

Website: www.ku.ac.ke

error: Content is protected !!