What are the Stages of pregnancy development?

Stages of pregnancy development.

pregnancy pic

Pregnancy is a period in which a fetus or an unborn child, is inside the womb or uterus of a woman. It takes three stages for pregnancy development. Pregnancy takes 40 weeks or 9 months, as measured from your last menstrual period up to the date you deliver. So, health care providers divide the pregnancy period into three stages, known as trimesters.

When do you know you are pregnant?

It takes 7 to 14 days after your last menstrual period for the test to be accurate on whether you are actually pregnant. A missed period is often a sign that you may be pregnant. However, a pregnancy test may test negative when you take a test 7 days before the last day of your period. This is because it takes some time for the body to build Human Chorionic Gonadotropin (HCG). This hormone is produced in the placenta if you are pregnant and detected in the urine.

The signs and symptoms of pregnancy during pregnancy development?

Early signs and symptoms of pregnancy are;

  1. Missed period. If you are in your child-bearing years and a week or more past your expected menstrual period occurs, you may be pregnant.
  2. Frequent urination.
  3. Nausea with or without vomiting.
  4. Swollen breasts that are tender.
  5. Fatigue.

Stages of pregnancy development.

  1. First trimester. The germinal stage begins at conception when the sperm and the egg unite in the fallopian tube. When the egg gets become fertilized, it forms a zygote. After fertilization, the zygote travels from the fallopian tube to the uterus. Division of cells starts after about 24 to 36, through the processes of mitosis. Cell division takes place faster in the first week when the zygote is traveling from the fallopian tube to the uterus. the cell develops into three layers known which are; ( a) Ectoderm which is the skin and nervous system. ( b) Endoderm which is the digestive and respiratory system and

( c) Mesoderm which is the muscle and skeletal systems.

Thereafter, the blastocyst arrives in the uterus and attaches itself to the walls of the uterus through a process known as implantation. The first trimester lasts from week 1 to the end of week 12.

An embryo during development

Fetus development in the first trimester.

  • The heart of a fetus begins to beat.
  • Sex organs begin to form.
  • Arms and legs grow longer.
  • Toes and fingers have begun to form.
  • Features of the face begin to develop.
  • The umbilical cord is visible clearly.

2. Second trimester.

The second trimester starts from the beginning of week 13 to the end of week 26. Moreover, this is the stage where the bump begins to show. Therefore, your body may change due to the expanding abdomen. As your body grows, the baby also develops. The musculoskeletal system continues to grow, the skin begins to form and is nearly translucent, your baby develops sucking motions with mouth sucking reflex, and the meconium develops in your baby’s intestinal tract. This will be your baby’s first bowel movement.

Fetus development in the second trimester.

  • Fingerprints and footprints have formed.
  • Taste buds form on your baby’s tongue.
  • Hair begins to grow on the head.
  • The lungs are formed but not ready to work.
  • The baby’s bone marrow begins making blood cells.
  • The baby develops a regular sleep cycle.
The third trimester of pregnancy development

3. Third Trimester

The third trimester begins from 29 to the 40th week. Therefore, it is the last stage of pregnancy before delivery. In this stage, the baby can open eyes and see, hear, smile, suck thumb, and cry.

Development of the baby in the third trimester.

  • The bone of your baby is fully formed and soft.
  • Movements and kicks increase.
  • Lanugo or fine hair begins to fall off.
  • The baby’s body begins to store important minerals.

At the end of the three stages, the baby is born having undergone full development in the uterus.

error: Content is protected !!